Free Account

Copyright Website Honored With International Online Community's Top Accolade

FOSTER CITY, CA - May 1, 2002 - The Webby Awards, the leading international honors for Web sites, today nominated the Copyright Website for a Webby Award in the category of Best Government and Law Web site of 2002.

Hailed by The Wall Street Journal as a celebration of "sites that pave important paths to the Internet's next phase," the Webby Awards are determined by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership includes film director Francis Ford Coppola, musicians David Bowie and Beck, cyberguru Esther Dyson, CEO of Real Networks Rob Glaser, Chef Julia Child, and Electronic Frontier Foundation Founder John Perry Barlow.

"The Webby Awards showcase the best of what the Internet has to offer in terms of innovation, creativity and originality," said Maya Draisin, Executive Director of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. "Copyright Website's nomination for a Webby Award is a testament to its great contributions in pushing the Internet envelope."

The Sixth Annual Webby Awards will take place this year on Tuesday, June 18, 2002 at San Francisco's magnificent Legion of Honor.

"It is a great honor for the Copyright Website to be nominated for a Webby Award," said Benedict O'Mahoney, President of Copyright Website LLC. "This nomination puts us among the best of the best on the 'Net. This is a great birthday present for the website as it celebrates its seventh anniversary of providing entertaining copyright information."

About Copyright Website LLC
Copyright Website LLC powers the Copyright Website, the Internet's most popular destination for copyright information. The Copyright Website has provided artists, musicians, coders, webmasters, filmmakers, students, photographers and writers with real world, practical and relevant copyright information since 1995. The Copyright Website is also home of the Copyright Wizard, the first web-based copyright registration service. For more information visit

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences
The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy's goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as film director Francis Ford Coppola, musician Bjork, Chairman of Miramax Talk Media Tina Brown, cyberguru Esther Dyson, creator of "The Simpsons" Matt Groening, Public Radio International Personality Ira Glass, and Oracle Chairman Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper. For more information, visit